Title: Raga Sept ‘Single’
Year Completed: 2014
Duration: 5:30 mins
Instrumentation: 4 Flutes (2 C, Alto, Bass)

Purchase/Rent: Canadian Music Centre

Raga Sept is not based on an authentic Raga, but rather attempts to create a meditative character. Raga Sept is in 7/8 time. Many sounds are created with a technique whereby the flutist must enunciate the word 'cha' to produce the desired 'toneless' and rough sounding effect. Most of my works in this Raga Series use Hindi numbers to designate the time signature. 'Saat' is the English translation of the number seven in Hindi. However, that name was used for another Raga quartet. Instead, this work uses the French 'Sept'. There are two versions of Raga Sept: (1) Single, for flute quartet (2 C flutes, Alto, and Bass), and (2) Double, for two quartets (4 C flutes, 2 Alto, 2 Bass).


(1) A normal notehead indicates ordinary tone. However, often a combination of ordinary tone and chuffing attacks using "ch" sounds (on the bass flute in particular) should be explored.

(2) A triangle notehead indicates a “toneless” attack. Blow across the tone-hole (not into the tone-hole as you normally would) whilst using a harsh "ch", "k", or "t" articulation. For single tonguing use "ch". For double tonguing use "ch k". And for triple tonguing use "ch k t". Feel free to overblow at times capturing some of the harmonics and producing a grittier sound. Experiment with using combinations of "ch k t" for single tongued passages as well.

(3) A diamond notehead indicates aeolian sounds. Produce an airy sound using "sh".

(4) A square notehead indicates a note to be sung.
Stacks Image 687

derek charke sept single