Title: Suite No.1 for Brass Quintet
Year Completed: 1996
Duration: 15 mins
Instrumentation: Brass Quintet
Premiere: Winter, 1996 Royal Academy of Music London, England Midas Brass Quintet

Purchase/Rent: Canadian Music Centre

Written in England, 1996 for the Midas Brass Quintet, a student ensemble formed at the Royal Academy of Music in London. I think the brass ensemble is one of the most beautiful sounds we have. The lyric quality of brass instruments can be overshadowed by the stereotype of lound, brash and fanfarish... which, of course, they do very well! However, I wanted to also emphasize their lyric quality, especially in the second movement. This work also experiments with various mutes and voicings of the instruments, such as placing the horn above the trumpet, or giving the tuba the melodic line.


2 C Trumpets
1 Horn in F
1 Tenor Trombone
1 Tuba

derek charke suite for brass quintet