Title: After Chaos, the Earth and Love came into being
Year Completed: 2015
Duration: 12 mins
Instrumentation: Orchestra 2222 2200 Timp Strings
Credits: Commissioned by Harvey and Louise Glatt for the National Arts Centre Orchestra
Premiere: October 6 & 7, 2016 National Arts Centre Orchestra, Alexander Shelly, Conductor.

Purchase/Rent: Canadian Music Centre

The title and concept of this work was inspired by the text of Hesiod, a Greek Poet who lived around 750 to 650 BC.

As Hesiod says: —

First Chaos came, and then broad-bosomed Earth,
The everlasting seat of all that is,
And Love.
In other words, After Chaos, the Earth and Love, these two, came into being.

From Plato’s Symposium

This work would not have been possible without the generous support of Harvey and Louise Glatt who commissioned it. A big thank you to them, and to the National Arts Centre Orchestra, who will premiere the work in their 2016/2017 season.

"Charke plays very successfully with orchestral texture; the pairing of solo violin with offstage trumpets is especially effective. There are shades of Copland and Bartok in the music, and rhythmically the piece is quite catchy." – Natasha Gauthier, Ottawa Citizen


2 Flutes
2 Oboes
2 Clarinets in A
2 Bassoons

2 Horns in F
2 Trumpets in C


Violin I
Violln II

Links: National Arts Centre Orchestra

derek charke after chaos