The Equation of Time

Coming August 12! The Equation of Time, featuring Eugene Cormier on guitar, myself on flute, and Celso Machado on percussion!

“The Equation of Time” is the Charke-Cormier Duo’s third album and their second to feature recital programming that spans various genres and styles. Like their first album, Ex Tempore, it showcases their shared aspiration to play music both old and new, original works and arrangements, to explore the stunning timbral combination of flute and guitar. Although both the album and its titular work were planned long before coronavirus became a household name, it is uncanny yet fitting that this recording project took place amid the COVID-19 pandemic, an event that has greatly disrupted our sense of time. The Equation of Time exemplifies how truly special art can result when the
artists are given the time and space to communicate and create.

More info to follow!

Check out the link on Leaf-Music
Pre-Order from iTunes

Cecilia Concerts

Excited to be a part of a new series of Sensory-Friendly Chamber Music Concerts with Jennifer King, pianist through Cecilia Concerts. The concert I'm joining will be on Sunday, April 3rd 2:00pm at the Halifax Library. For more information visit:

Two New Tracks

Happy to announce two new tracks have been released in the past week:

In The Falling Dark 1 has been recorded by pianist Jennifer King on her lovely album O Mistress Moon: Canadian Edition. For more information be sure to visit her website:

Raga Sept 'Single' has been recorded by La Lumière Flûte Quatuor

Happy Holidays

Happy Holidays! Here are two holiday tracks from the Charke~Cormier Duo:

Bathymetric Terrains Visual Album

The visual album for Bathymetric Terrains is now available on YouTube. We had a lot of fun recording this last year around Wolfville, NS and the Minas Basin.

Raga Sept Single with La Lumière Flute Quartet, Taiwan.

Very happy to share the following videos with La Lumière Flute Quartet performing Raga Sept 'Single'. Enjoy!

C.P.E. Bach Sonata in A minor on Bass Flute

C.P.E. Bach Sonata in A Minor (Wq.132). Recorded at home on the bass flute on May 3, 2021. Enjoy!

Calgary Philharmonic Performance

For the next month you can register (for free) to watch the Calgary Philharmonic perform True North: Symphonic Ballet. Featuring a documentary by filmmaker Emil Agopian, the music of Dinuk Wijeratne, Maxime McKinley, Derek Charke, Dorothy Chang, and Vincent Ho — as well as choreography by Yukichi Hattori, Hal Eagletail of the Northern Dene Tsuu T'ina Nation, who contributed the prelude and postlude, and conductor Gary Kulesha.

2 ECMA Nominations

Congratulations to all of the ECMA nominees! Grateful to be included in such a wonder group of musicians. Thank you to Land's End Ensemble, John Lowry and Ben Reimer for their terrific performance of Tree Rings, and to Eugene Cormier for his collaboration on Bathymetric Terrains.

Classical Composition of the Year / Composition classique de l’année
• Andrew Staniland - "Peter Quince at the Clavier"
• Bekah Simms - "Granitic"
• Derek Charke - "Tree Rings"
• Dinuk Wijeratne - "The Spirit and the Dust"
• Emily Doolittle - "Doolittle: Minute Études “Excerpts” (Live)"
• Peter-Anthony Togni - "Sea Dreams"

Classical Recording of the Year / Enregistrement de l'année - Classique
• Charke-Cormier Duo - Bathymetric Terrains
• Duo Concertante - Franz Schubert Music for Violin and Piano
• Sarah Hagen - Women of Note
• Sarah Slean, Symphony Nova Scotia, Bernhard Gueller - Sarah Slean and Symphony Nova Scotia
• Steve Cowan and Adam Cicchillitti - Focus

In the Falling Dark 1 performed by Jennifer King

Available now from Leaf Music, In the Falling Dark 1 as performed by Jennifer King.

“In the Falling Dark 1” was composed by Derek Charke in 2014 as a commission by the Muzikon series for pianist Barbara Pritchard. The work is about the time of day known as dusk or twilight. In French this hour is known as ‘Entre Chien et Loup’ (translated as between dog and wolf). The mood begins from a recurring chorale to shimmering, repeated chord patterns opening to brooding moments and spaciously improvised solemn reflections.

Four Lines available at the Canadian Music Centre

Four Lines for flute quartet is now available for purchase at the Canadian Music Centre: